10 Ways to not get a Press Car

Chasing The Apex
3 min readAug 25, 2021
From one of my generous Partners, I’ll link this video at the bottom of the article

In my last article, I briefly discussed ‘How to get a Press Car’, really I just kind of blogged my thoughts on the topic, but let’s be honest I didn’t really cover the how. I gave the audience an idea of what the expectation is, and looking back I could have covered that significantly better.

But the truth is, just like when I was new to youtube, I was terrible. Being new to blogging? Guess what? I’m terrible, but that’s how I learn, through fire and trials until I can create my form and function to some semblance of ‘Good’.

In This Video, you can see McLaren Automotive Provided me a Press Car for review, and as a budding Youtuber you think that it’s pretty simple right? You start a Youtube Automotive Channel, and the Sponsors come clamoring to your door.

My Second Press Car, and Review courtesy of McLaren USA

Not really, not at all, and honestly, unless you’re somehow connected to the Automotive Industry finding a car at all to review can be a daunting task. Especially a Manufacturer Press Car.

I know what you’re thinking, “I’m not Jay Leno? Man C'mon”.

No, I’m sorry Brother, or Sister you’re not. You’re just a guy, and you’re just a guy Starting out. So let’s cover the 10 ways to not get a Press Car.

  1. Don’t be insured for the vehicle you’re requesting.
  2. Harass Marketing Managers (Who get countless emails a day)
  3. Imply you’re somebody you aren’t, (How big is your reach really? Not what you hope it to be, but right now. What is it?)
  4. Don’t check your ego, and think somehow you’re entitled to Rockstar treatment.
  5. Don’t produce quality content (what this means, is you aren’t taking the evolution of your craft as a video creator seriously. You should be showing improvement every video).
  6. Have fake accounts following you, or bots. (Look, marketing people know the difference, and they want a true ROI for their investment)
  7. Be a Jerk! (Oh you’re totally the next greatest thing since Top Gear and you know it! Tell them how great you are and how much you’re so much better than every other million creators publishing videos daily. Yup that will work, you’re totally entitled to a Car right now!}
  8. Be non family friendly (Totally you should cuss, and swear, and drink whiskey in the driver’s seat of their quarter million dollar vehicle, yup that makes sense!)
  9. Don’t create consistently, you have three or four videos you and your Mom, and your friends think are amazing, all four views! You’re totally ready for Ferrari to ‘gift’ you a car as your daily driver! (I hope you’re reading the sarcasm in that statement)
  10. Don’t have a clear vision of who you are, and who you want to be (Today you’re a man in a banana suit playing Minecraft, yesterday you were vlogging about travel, TODAY you’re doing reviews on million dollar Supercars and you’re the NEXT SUPERCAR BLONDIE!)

With that being said, and the sarcasm intended and included, I think it’s important to note in closing that it can be done. But maturity in one’s approach, and some study could help when approaching a Marquee. Any Marquee, I once made a video about a Toyota Prius in Collaboration with a bunch of Youtubers in humor, I promise Toyota didn’t think it was amusing at all.

Thanks for reading this week’s edition of “Jason Rambles about Rambling (and stuff, I like stuff).

As promised here’s the video from the picture at the beginning so I’m not click baiting, in the next rant, I’d like to talk about partnerships, and relationships with dealers, and how to create that.

--

--

Chasing The Apex

Random Driving Enthusiast (Note I didn't say car), Small Youtuber that looks a bit like Uncle Fester, Purveryor of random experiences,